Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Basketball Team Award Winners Named

Women's Basketball Team Award Winners Named

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - UW-Eau Claire women's basketball head coach Tonja Englund recently announced the team award winners for the 2018-19 season.

Junior Hallee Hoeppner (Winona, Minn.) was named the team's Most Valuable Player. Hoeppner, a D3 Hoops All-American fourth team selection, led the Blugolds and the WIAC in scoring this season with an average of 18.3 point per game. She finished third in the WIAC in rebounds (7.8 per game) and second in minutes played. The junior also finished sixth in field goal (48 percent) and 3-point percentage (35 percent). Hoeppner recorded six double-doubles and two 30+ point games along with being named WIAC Player of the Year, and WIAC Player of the Week three times. Hoeppner also earned the Most Improved Player Award. Coach Englund said "Hallee has always been a great shooter, but her hard work during the off-season on her total game and her dedication in the weight room showed up this season. Hallee's performance was even more exceptional when you consider that she changed positions from a guard to a post mid-season because of the injuries on the team. From her sophomore to her junior season she doubled up almost every statistical category including her scoring and her rebounding."

Anna Graaskamp (Eau Claire, Wis. / Memorial) and Katelyn Morgan (Green Bay,Wis./ Notre Dame)  were awarded the Blugold award. Both Graaskamp and Morgan suffered season ending injuries and were sidelined for the season. Coach Englund had this to say about their contributions. "Their leadership, class and unselfishness from the sideline this season impacted all of us on the team and the coaching staff immensely. They both are true Blugolds in that they did everything they possibly could to help the team and their teammates while going through extreme personal challenge that all of us know will show through for them next season. They are unquestionably the role models all of us want that little girl who hopes to play college basketball someday to emulate. They are leaders in the classroom, on the court and in our community and their insight, advice and support from the sideline this season made a tremendous impact."

Senior Maddie Dunathan  (Hortonville, Wis.) was named Defensive Player of the Year for the Blugolds. Dunathan finished 2nd in the WIAC in steals, 1st in total assists, assist to turnover ratio, and minutes played. The senior also made waves nationally for her assists, finishing eighth in assists per game, 15th in assist to turnover ratio, and tied for seventh in total assists in NCAA Division III.

This season, Rookie of the Year honors went to Ellie Clayton (Lakeville, Minn. /Farmington). Clayton started in four games for the Blugolds' this season, and had a few break out games including an 11 point 5 rebound game against Carleton (MN) in non-conference play. Claytons' versatility of both ends of the floor gave the Blugolds' a great new addition and an exciting sign for the future.

The Blugolds will graduate senior point guard Maddie Dunathon, and look forward to returning a verteran team that will focus on competing for a WIAC Championship and getting healthy during this off-season. 

Follow the action all season long on Blugold Game Day.