Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Hoeppner named WIAC Player of the Year

Hoeppner named WIAC Player of the Year

MADISON, Wis. ( – The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) office announced the 2019 All-WIAC women's basketball awards on Wednesday. Hallee Hoeppner (Jr.-Winona, MN) led the way for the Blugolds, earning Player of the Year honors, along with First Team recognition.

WIAC Release

Senior point guard Maddie Dunathan (Sr.-Hortonville, WI) was named to both the Honorable Mention and All-Defensive Teams while Kelsey Bakken (Jr. – Marshall, WI) also earned Honorable Mention recognition. In addition, Anna Graaskamp (Jr. – Eau Claire, WI /Memorial) was named to the All-Sportsmanship Team.

Hoeppner led the WIAC in scoring averaging 18.3 point per game, finished third in rebounds (7.8 per game) and second in minutes played. The junior also finished sixth in field goal (48 percent) and 3-point percentage (35 percent). Hoeppner recorded six double-doubles and two 30+ point games along with being named WIAC Player of Week three times. Hoeppner is the fifth Blugold to earn Player of the Year honors in Head Coach Tonja Englund's tenure and eighth overall for the program.

Dunathan led the WIAC in total assists, assist to turnover ratio, and minutes played. She also finished second in steals. The senior also made waves nationally for her assists, finishing eighth in assists per game, 15th in assist to turnover ratio, and tied for seventh in total assists in NCAA Division III.

Bakken earned Honorable Mention recognition, finishing in the top five in the conference for 10 different statistical categories.