Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Dennis & Zarnoth Named WIAC Indoor Track & Field Award Winners

Dennis & Zarnoth Named WIAC Indoor Track & Field Award Winners

MADISON, Wis. ( - The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) has announced its award winners for the 2014 men's indoor track & field season based on voting by the league coaches. Blugold Thurgood Dennis (Jr.-Allouez, Wis./Green Bay Notre Dame) earned the Track Performer of the Meet from the WIAC championship, while UW-Eau Claire's Brandon Zarnoth (Jr.-Appleton, Wis./North) received the Field Performer of the Meet plaque.

Official Announcement

Dennis captured the track honor for the third consecutive year, becoming the first individual in conference history to accomplish the feat.  He was victorious in the both the 60-meter dash and 200-meter dash for the third straight year with WIAC season-best times of 6.75 and 21.77, respectively.  His time of 6.75 in the 60-meter dash established a conference meet record.  Dennis was also a member of the winning 4x200-meter relay and 4x400-meter relay teams.

Zarnoth posted a first-place finish in the heptathlon with a conference meet record and WIAC season best of 5,385 points.  In the heptathlon events, he was first in the 60-meter dash, 60-meter hurdles and long jump, second in the pole vault, third in the high jump and shot put, and fourth in the 1,000-meter run.  Zarnoth is the second Blugold to win the Field Performer of the Meet honor, joining Sam Johnson from the 2009 championship.

UW-La Crosse's Josh Buchholtz was selected the Coach of the Year. Buchholtz captured the coaching honor for the fourth straight year and fifth time in his career after leading the Eagles to their 13th straight WIAC crown.  UW-La Crosse won four individual titles and one relay crown during the two-day league championship.