Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Eight Players Earn All-WIAC Honors; Loen Earns Coaching Honor

Eight Players Earn All-WIAC Honors; Loen Earns Coaching Honor

MADISON, Wis. ( – Eight members of the UW-Eau Claire men's hockey team and head coach Matt Loen have received All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) recognition, it was announced today by Assistant Commissioner of Media Relations Matt Stanek.

2014-15 All-WIAC TeamOfficial WIAC Release

Forward Ross Andersen (Sr.-River Falls, WI) earned First Team All-WIAC honors for the first time in his career after leading the conference in goals (20), short-hand points (6), short-hand goals (5) and game-winning goals (5).  Andersen also ranked second in points (32) and 12th in assists (12).  Andersen scored at least one point in 18 of 27 games this season including a stretch from January 31 to February 14 where he scored a goal in five straight games.  Andersen was named WIAC Men's Hockey Athlete of the Week a league-best three times in 2014-15.  This season Andersen tied the school record of five game-winning goals by Alex Hicks in 1989-90 and five short-handed goals also set by Hicks in 1991-92.  Andersen finishes his career tied for second in career game-winning goals (10) and fifth in short-handed goals (5).  Andersen ranks 13th for career goals (49), 19th in points (88) and tied for 21st in games played (106).

Defenseman Jack Callahan (Sr.-Red Bank, NJ/Christian Brothers Academy) received first team All-WIAC recognition ranking second in the conference in defenseman scoring (26) and assists (21).  Callahan also ranked fourth among WIAC statistics in short-handed points (2) and seventh in power play points (9) and short-handed points (2).  Callahan tallied a season-high four assists in an 11-2 victory over Lawrence on December 13, 2015.  Callahan received first team All-WIAC honors in 2013 while earning honorable mention accolades in 2014.  Callahan has led the team in assists each of the last two seasons.  In three seasons as a Blugold Callahan is tied for 18th in career assists (53) tying Dennis Ryan who played from 1979-83.

Goalie Jay Deo (So.-Langley, BC) earned first team All-WIAC honors for the first time in his career.  Deo ranked fourth among WIAC goalies in goals-against average (2.75), save percentage (.914) and win percentage (.679).  Deo was one of four sophomores receiving first team recognition.  In the Eau Claire record book Deo is tied for fifth in single-season saves percentage (.914) and tenth for goals-against average (2.75).  In his two seasons as a Blugold Deo ranks first in career goals-against average (1.92), fourth in saves percentage (.934), tied for eighth in wins (17) and 19th in saves (666).

Defenseman Jeff Pauluk (Jr.-Bloomington, MN/Jefferson) received first team accolades tying for seventh in the conference rankings in defenseman scoring (13 points) and short-handed points (1).  Pauluk set career highs in 2014-15 in goals (3), points (13) and plus/minus (+15).  Pauluk scored a season-best three points, one goal and two assists, in an 11-2 victory over Lawrence on December 13, 2014.

Forward Patrick Moore (So.-Grand Rapids, MN) is the first of three Blugolds to earn honorable mention All-WIAC honors.  Moore ranked second among WIAC statistical leaders in assists (21) and short-handed points (4), third in short-handed goals (2) and fourth in points (29).  Moore set single-season career high marks in points (29), assists (21), goals (8) and plus/minus (+15).  Moore scored four points, one goal and three assists, in a 5-3 win at UW-Superior on February 6, 2015.  Moore was named WIAC Men's Hockey Athlete of the Week honors for January 19-25, 2015.

Forward Ethan Nauman (Jr.-Mosinee, WI) received honorable mention recognition leading the WIAC in points (33), goals (20) and power play goals (7).  Nauman set single-season career marks in points (33), goals (20), assists (13) and plus/minus (+13).  Nauman scored four points, two goals and two assists, in an 11-2 victory over Lawrence on December 13, 2014.  Nauman also scored three points in three other games this season.

Forward Brandon Wahlin (So.-White Bear Lake, MN) earned honorable mention honors in his first season as a Blugold leading the league in power play points (16) and power play goals (7) while ranking second in points (32) and assists (21).  Wahlin tied for second on the team in plus/minus (+16).  Wahlin tied a school record with three power play goals in an 11-2 victory over Lawrence on December 13, 2015.  Wahlin scored 5 points in that game, one short of tying the school record.

Forward T.J. Stuntz (Fr.-Austin, TX/Round Rock) was named to the WIAC All-Sportsmanship Team.  This team is represented for individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season.  Stuntz tied for eighth in game-winning goals (2) and tied for ninth in freshman scoring (6 points).  Stuntz scored two of his three goals of the season in a 4-2 victory over UW-River Falls on February 28, 2015.

Head Coach Matt Loen earned WIAC Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time in the past six years (2010, 2011, 2013, 2015).  The Blugolds ranked first in penalty kill percentage (.891) and special teams net (+21) while ranking second in scoring offense (3.85 goals/game), power play conversion (.243) and scoring by periods (104 goals).  Only Steve Freeman of UW-River Falls has won more WIAC Coach of the Year awards than Loen.  The 2014-05 season marks the third-straight year that the Blugolds have won 18 or more games, the longest such streak of its kind in school history.  In addition the Blugolds have now posted five-straight winning seasons which is also a school record.